It’s Christmas day. With my sporadic blog posting habits I suppose it may seem strange that I pick Christmas day of all days to write a post.  I’m over due for one again and it’s quiet right now.  The yule log went out about the same time that Ashley and Zack packed up the milk-bandits to take them over to nemesis grandma’s house.  So, I sit here looking around at all of the dusting, picking up and organizing that needs to be done to get the house somewhat livable again. Rather than start that task, I’ll procrastinate a bit while letting you all know that I still live and breath. 

We had a very Merry Christmas here at my little house. After not visiting home for three years, Mark flew out last weekend to spend the week with his family. As much as I’d have loved to spend time with them, I chose to stay behind and spend my holiday with the children. They were kind enough to stay here and keep me company during Mark’s absence. The arrangement worked out great. I got to spend a lot of time with all of them, and with twins being such a labor of love, I had little time to be miserable about my husband’s not being here with us. We all miss him terribly and it’s not the same without him, but we did have a beautiful time.

While they were here, I savored every moment, knowing that they pass so quickly. I stored them in a little snow globe inside my head so each time I want to remember, I can shake it up and watch the scenes replay over and over again. . .Sitting around in pajamas with warm cups of holiday totties, sinfully delicious treats, the gentle warmth of a smoldering fire, and the soft white lighting of the tree and garlands. . .All of us tired from 2 and 5 am feedings, but comfortable, warm and smiling. Ah, there’s nothing like nostalgia, is there? They just left and already I’m looking on the past week with the brand of envy that only a nostalgic moment can impose. I’m sure when I start my commute down to Charlotte to retrieve my husband from Charlotte-Douglas airport, in the poring COLD rain, I’ll snap out it. 

Over the past week, I’ve not worked much. I tried but it’s impossible for me to sit at the torch too long knowing that the only thing that separates me from kids is my ceiling and their floor. Breaks were impossible because when I took them, I couldn’t seem to make myself return to the torch. So, I’ll be making up for that over the next few days. I miss the little guys terribly, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy the creative outlet that only bead making seems to provide.

The other night I got to help give Elijah and Legend a bath. They were so cute and I had to get pictures of them.  We gave Eli a bath first. He didn’t care too much for it in the beginning, but after he was in his tub for a minute, he was happy and almost seem to enjoy it. Legend on the other hand was not thrilled at all by the experience. He doesn’t cry much, but he screamed the entire time. He’s not too crazy about being messed with. He likes to sleep, unless he’s either hungry or wet. He’d prefer to be left to sleep in his bassinet with no poking or prodding. Eli on the other hand would physically attach himself to you if it was possible. He loves interaction when he’s awake and he loves to cuddle. Both boys have special little ways about them and as I knew from the first glance of them, they are polar opposites. They look different too. . Eli’s skin is olive, his hair is dark and his eyes are deep ocean blue, while Legend is snow white with sandy blond hair.  I’m not too sure about his eye color yet. Both are equally beautiful and precious though, so they certainly have those two things in common.

Elijah

 

Legend

Well, I guess I’ll finish watching one of the best holiday movies of all time. . . “National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation”. I swear, it seems that no matter how many times I see Clark Griswold sled down that hill of snow at 1000 miles an hours as butt catches on fire, it will never get old to me. It sill cracks me up every time! Later tonight, I’ll watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” after I retrieve my worn out beloved Mr. Muell.

Here’s wishing you all a warm and wonderful holiday with your love ones and as Tiny Tim would say, “God bless us, every one.”